International Standards and Conformity Assessment for all electrical, electronic and related technologies
Electromagnetic Compatibility


Electromagnetic Compatibility



Lightning over a city

Two sets of IEC generic EMC Standards exist, each for two groups of defined types of environment and each comprising emission Standards and immunity Standards.


The group of environments are labelled:

Residential, commercial and light industrial. This includes houses, shops and business premises, cinemas, sports centres, workshops and laboratories, for example.


Industrial concerns locations with industrial, scientific and medical equipment and installations involving high currents and associated magnetic fields, or in which there is frequent switching of heavy inductive or capacitative loads.


Furthermore, two generic immunity Standards exist for specific applications:

  • Immunity requirements for equipment used in power stations and substations
  • HEMP and IEMI immunity requirements