News & blogs
Leading the way on standards for the future
 Phil Wennblom as Chair of ISO/IEC - self portrait

The position of Phil Wennblom as Chair of ISO/IEC Joint Technical Committee 1 has been renewed until January 1 2023. He was first appointed Chair of the technical committee in 2017. Prior to that, Wennblom convened the JTC 1 Special Working Group on Management and participated in the JTC 1 Advisory Group (JAG). JTC 1 is the standards development environment where experts come together from IEC and ISO to develop worldwide Information and Communication Technology (ICT) standards for business and consumer applications. Since its inception in 1987, JTC 1 has brought about several successful and relevant ICT standards in the fields of multimedia (e.g.: MPEG), ICT security and database query and programming languages, to name just a few. Recent areas of work include IoT and digital twin, AI as well as quantum computing.

Wennblom is a member of the US-based Standardization Policy Committee of the Information Technology Industry Committee (ITI) and served as its Chair from 2008 to 2017. He is Senior Director of Standards Policy at Intel since 2008.

In other news, Lutz Hofmann’s chairmanship of IEC TC 73: Short-circuit currents, has been extended until end of August 2024. Michel Bouquain will remain Chair of TC 86: Fibre Optics, until end of June 2024. Hannu Peiponen will continue as Chair of TC 80: Maritime navigation and radiocommunication equipment and systems until end of August 2024 while Bernard Klaussner will remain Chair of TC 15: Electrical insulating materials, until end of June 2024.

Recents Posts

Blog digest

Sign up to receive selected stories