International Standards and Conformity Assessment for all electrical, electronic and related technologies
Affiliate Country Programme

IEC Affiliates

IEC Programme for developing countries


Become an Affiliate Plus

Affiliate Plus criteria


The IEC decided to create a new status for developing countries that are already using the Affiliate Country Programme to its full extent. The Affiliate Plus status offers them a greater number of free IEC International Standards for adoption and a mentoring approach on a case-by-case basis.


To be granted the Affiliate Plus status, an Affiliate Country shall comply with the following:

  • Be a participant in the Affiliate Country Programme
  • Have officially declared the adoption of at least 50 IEC International Standards as national standards
  • Have established a National Electrotechnical Committee (NEC) that has representatives from both the private and public sectors
  • Have made a commitment to support Affiliate Country Programme activities

The objective of the Affiliate Plus status is to encourage Affiliate Countries to use more IEC International Standards at their national level: the number of free copies of IEC International Standards for adoption is increased to 400 (instead of 200). The new status also aims at encouraging the establishment of National Electrotechnical Committees (NECs) in developing countries and therefore at increasing their technical participation in IEC work, involving both their private and public sectors.



Find the countries with the Affiliate Plus status.




Affiliate Plus benefits

  • 400 free copies of IEC International Standards for adoption instead of 200.
  • Support through mentoring on a case-by-case basis.


The Affiliate Plus status is granted upon invitation from the IEC General Secretary.