International Standards and Conformity Assessment for all electrical, electronic and related technologies

Who we are


IEC Ambassadors

IEC Ambassadors

IEC Ambassadors are individuals who have a proven track record of explaining the benefits of the IEC. Their main responsibility is to reach to key stakeholders in industry, government or academia to endorse the IEC. The aim is to enhance active involvement in IEC activities and help identify new areas of work. IEC Ambassadors are appointed by the Executive Committee for a two-year term, which can be renewed twice. They are independent, unpaid volunteers.




Lim Say Leong


Mr Lim Say Leong is Technical Director at Sunlight Electrical Pte Ltd, Singapore, which is owned by CHINT Group. With over 38 years of working experiences, he held positions in the commercial and technical sectors as well as in trade associations and standardization bodies in Singapore and Malaysia; such as former President of KNX (Konnex) South East Asia and is the current Secretary of Singapore Electrical Trades Association. Mr Lim is also a member of the Singapore National Committee (SNC) of IEC and the Singapore Electrical and Electronics Standards Committee. Currently, he chairs the TC responsible for WGs on electrical and electronic products.


Beyond standardization, he chaired committees responsible for certification criteria for energy efficiency, water efficiency, learning service providers and medical devices and the Electrical Testing Committee.


Mr Lim has been appointed IEC Ambassador for a two-year term (2018-2019) to represent the interests of the IEC in the sector of Energy Efficiency.

Hiromichi Fujisawa


Dr Fujisawa is Advisor at Perceptual Computing Laboratory, Waseda University in Tokyo, Japan, after having been Corporate Chief Scientist at Hitachi Ltd’s Research & Development Group from 2003 to 2015. He was Vice-President of the IEC and Chair of the IEC Conformity Assessment Board (CAB) from 2009 to 2014. Dr Fujisawa is a Life Fellow of the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers), Fellow of IAPR (International Association for Pattern Recognition), and Fellow of the IEICE (Institute of Electronics, Information and Communication Engineers, Japan). 


Dr Fujisawa has been appointed IEC Ambassador for a two-year term (2018-2019) to reach out to regulators/governments in the area of conformity assessment and enhance the involvement of academia in IEC work.


Jingyi Hu


Mr Jingyi Hu is the Director of Internet of Things (IoT) Research Center in China Electronics Standardization Institute. Since he joined the Institute, Mr Hu has engaged in information technology standardization, research, testing and verification. He is the chief director of National Intelligent Manufacturing Standardization Administration Working Group, which includes prestigious enterprise members. Mr Hu directed the compilation of the Construction Guidelines of National Intelligent Manufacturing Standard System, which has been published in 2015 with the approval of the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology of the People’s Republic of China and the Standardization Administration of the People’s Republic of China (SAC).


Mr Hu has been appointed IEC Ambassador for a two-year term (2017-2018) to represent the interests of the IEC in the sectors of IoT and smart manufacturing.

James E. Matthews III


Mr Matthews is Director of worldwide standards engineering activities for multiple business divisions across Corning Incorporated. He is responsible for Corning’s external standardization activities in display technologies and optical communications businesses, including flat panel displays, optical fibre, cable, optical components and applications, as well as coordination across several additional business areas. Mr Matthews has held leadership roles in several national and international standards committees, including those in the Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA), the IEC and the International Telecommunications Union (ITU-T). He was IEC Vice-President and Chair of the Standardization Management Board from 2011 to 2016.


Mr Matthews has been appointed IEC Ambassador for a two-year term (2017-2018) to promote Systems work and ICT work.

Richard Schomberg


Mr Schomberg is Vice-President Smart Energy Standardization at EDF Group (Electricité de France). Over the past years, he has held a number of management positions at EDF Group Research & Development and has designed multimillion dollars complex systems for critical operations. Mr Schomberg currently chairs the IEC Systems Committee on Smart Energy and PC 118: Smart Grid User Interface, and has in the past chaired TC 8: Systems aspects for electrical energy supply, TC 45: Nuclear instrumentation, and Strategic Group 3 on Smart Grid. In 2011, Mr Schomberg received the IEC Lord Kelvin Award for his long-term and exceptional contribution to the IEC.


Mr Schomberg has been appointed IEC Ambassador for a two-year term (2018-2019) to represent the interests of the IEC in the sector of Smart Energy.

Hao Wei


Mr Wei is Director General of China Information Security Certification Center and is responsible for General Management. Before that, Mr Wei held the position of Vice Director in the China National Accreditation Service for Conformity Assessment which is responsible for the accreditation of laboratories and inspection bodies. Since 2005, he is a member of the National Information Security Standardization Technical Committee and is also a member of the Industrial Alliance for Smart Energy. He was the delegation leader attending the International Common Criteria Conferences in 2011, 2012 and 2015.


Mr Wei has been appointed IEC Ambassador for a two-year term (2017-2018) to represent the interests of the IEC in the sector of cyber security.