International Standards and Conformity Assessment for all electrical, electronic and related technologies
IEC Industry perpective

Governments/ International Organizations

Your perspective


What the IEC does

The three IEC Conformity Assessment Systems


The IEC runs three CA (Conformity Assessment) Systems each of which covers a different area of electrotechnology.


IECEE (System for Conformity Testing and Certification of Electrotechnical Equipment and components) covers the safety and performance of electrical equipment used in the home, office or health care facilities.


IECEx (System for certification to standards relating to equipment for use in explosive atmospheres) is focused on hazardous areas where flammable gases, liquids, and combustible dusts may be present.


IECQ (Approval and certification system for electronic components and related materials and processes) covers electronic components and related materials and processes


One Standard - one test - one certification


The use of the IEC CA Systems provides a clear advantage in that it facilitates export to many markets. If the national product was built based on IEC International Standards and then tested by a member of one of the IEC CA Systems, this test will not need to be repeated for export to the other countries who are members of the System. One test certificate is valid in many markets.