International Standards and Conformity Assessment for all electrical, electronic and related technologies

April 2014


April 2014 nominations and extensions

Latest Chairman nominations approved by SMB

Zoë Smart

IEC TC 46: Cables, wires, waveguides, R.F. connectors, R.F. and microwave passive components and accessories, welcomes Thomas Hähner as its new Chairman for the period 1 April 2014 to 31 March 2020.

Facilitating communication

Established in 1960, the components included in the TC 46 family of products are mainly intended to be used in the infrastructure of communication networks. With over 100 International Standards developed to date, the TC has facilitated the interoperability and availability worldwide of TC 46-related products. The TC also actively takes into account environmental aspects such as electromagnetic behaviour, lightning protection, green cables, and waste and disposal issues.

About Thomas Hähner

No stranger to the communications and cables business, Hähner first joined Nexans as R&D engineer of radio frequency and data transmission cables and manager of the RF test laboratory in 1990. Today he is Manager of the Nexans Research Center in Lyon, France.


Hähner has been active in the standardization field for the past 20 years and in 2010 was awarded the IEC 1906 Award in recognition of his outstanding technical contribution in developing, writing and finalizing TC 46’s IEC 62153-4 series, Metallic communication cable test methods - Electromagnetic compatibility. He has been a member of ACEC (Advisory Committee on Electromagnetic Compatibility) since 2011.


SMB has approved the extension of the term of office of Peter Zwanziger as Chairman of TC 22: Power electronic systems and equipment for the period 1 April 2014 to 31 March 2017.


  • Thomas Hähner, Chairman of TC 46Thomas Hähner is the new Chairman of TC 46
  • IEc 1906 AwardHähner received the IEC 1906 Award in 2010 for his work on the IEC 62153-4 series
  • EMC chamber (Photo:Philips)He is also a member of ACEC, the Advisory Committee on Electromagnetic Compatibility (Photo: Philips)



Find out more