International Standards and Conformity Assessment for all electrical, electronic and related technologies

October 2013


Honouring IEC Award winners

Janice Blondeau

Each year the IEC pays tribute to the commitment and work of some of members of the IEC family who, through their outstanding leadership and expertise, have contributed to making products and electrical systems safer, more energy efficient and more compatible.

2013 Thomas A. Edison laureates

Created in 2010, the annual Thomas A. Edison Award recognizes exceptional achievements of TC/SC officers (Chairmen, Secretaries or Assistant Secretaries of Technical Committees or Subcommittees) and other officers of the IEC Conformity Assessment Systems and their subsidiary bodies.


To be nominated, TC and SC officers need to be active in IEC work. They must also have made an outstanding contribution to IEC systems and international standardization work, helping their committees to work more effectively on behalf of key stakeholders. The Award is given to up to nine recipients each year by the SMB (Standardization Management Board) and CAB (Conformity Assessment Board). Seven of these are reserved for TC/SC officers, and a maximum of two are reserved for officers in the conformity assessment bodies.


In 2013 the SMB chose five TC/SC officers to receive the Thomas A. Edison Award:

  • Sonya Bird, Secretary of TC 61: Safety of household and similar electrical appliances.
  • C. (Tony) Capel, Chair SC 65C: Industrial networks
  • Bernd Göttert, Secretary of TC 112: Evaluation and qualification of electrical insulating materials systems           
  • Toshihiro Kojima, Secretary of TC 49: piezoelectric, dielectric and electrostatic devices for frequency control
  • Wolfgang Nieuwkamp, Secretary SC 61J: Electrical motor-operated cleaning appliances for commercial use.

Three of the 2013 laureates of the IEC Thomas A. Edison Award will receive their honours from IEC Vice-President Jim Matthews, SMB Chairman, during the SMB session at the 2013 IEC General Meeting.

1906 Award

The IEC 1906 Award was established in commemoration of the Commission’s foundation in that year. It honours technical experts around the world whose contribution is deemed to have made an exceptional contribution to the advancement of the IEC’s work.


Every year a maximum of five awards may be granted per TC (Technical Committee), including its various subcommittees.


In 2013, 165 experts from 58 Technical Committees (ISO/IEC JTC 1 included) and 25 National Committees have been nominated to receive the 1906 Award.


  • The Thomas A. Edison Award honours exceptional achievement in their IEC committee work by currently active TC/SC officers and CA systems officers
  • Thomas A. Edison is credited with many inventions including the first commercially practical incandescent light and electricity distribution systems
  • The IEC 1906 award recognizes technical experts who have made an exceptional contribution to IEC work




Find out more