International Standards and Conformity Assessment for all electrical, electronic and related technologies

IEC General Meeting 2012


Council Statutory Session

Report on elections, appointments and other statutory issues

Council, the supreme governing body of the IEC, held its meeting on Friday 5 October 2012 during the IEC General Meeting in Oslo. The morning session was dedicated to the statutory issues of the Commission.

Statutory issues concerning the election/appointment of

  • Future IEC President
  • Five Members of the CB (Council Board)
  • Three Members of the SMB (Standardization Management Board)
  • Four Members of the CAB (Conformity Assessment Board)

Other principal items on the agenda

  • The General Secretary’s report (see e-tech article)
  • Official handover to the next General Secretary (see e-tech article)
  • Financial matters
  • A report from the CB, as well as separate reports from the IEC Vice-Presidents on SMB and CAB activities (see e-tech articles on SMB and CAB)
  • Forthcoming GMs (General Meetings)
  • Lord Kelvin Award (see e-tech article)

Before moving on to the meeting’s agenda items, Council expressed its warm appreciation to the Organizing Committee and the Norwegian National Committee for their excellent organization of the 76th IEC General Meeting and for the generous hospitality extended to IEC delegates in Oslo.



IEC Officers
From left: Hiromichi Fujisawa, Vice-President and CAB Chairman, Frans Vreeswijk, General Secretary & CEO, Ronnie Amit, Special Advisor to the President, Klaus Wucherer, President, Jacques Régis, Immediate Past President, and Åke Danemar, Treasurer

Election of the future IEC President

Council elected Dr Junji Nomura of Japan as IEC President for a three-year term of office (1 January 2014 to 31 December 2016) and as President-Elect for the year 2013 (see e-tech article).

Election results


Council re-elected one financial Group A member of the CB for a three-year term of office (2013-2015):

  • Mr Jun Xie (China)

The CB Members elected / re-elected for a three-year term of office (2013-2015) were:

  • Mr Gianni Binacchi (Italy)
  • Dr Ralph Craven (Australia)
  • Mr Günter Idinger (Austria)
  • Mr Ed Tymofichuk (Canada)


Council appointed as Automatically Appointed Member of the SMB for a three-year term (2013-2015):

  • Ms Hong Dai (China)

The SMB Members elected / re-elected for a three-year term of office (2013-2015) were:

  • Mr Kim Leon Craig (Australia)
  • Mr Svante Skeppstedt (Sweden)


The CAB Members elected / re-elected for a three-year term of office (2013-2015) were:

  • Mr Weijun Liu (China)
  • Mr Soo Hyun Baek (Korea, republic of)
  • Mr Thomas Korssell (Sweden)
  • Mr Simon Barrowcliff (United Kingdom)

Financial matters

Åke Danemar, IEC Treasurer, reported on the financial situation of the IEC.


Council approved the audited accounts of the Commission for 2011 as well as the transfer of the surplus accruing from 2011 operations to the special fund for future investments. Council also approved the proposed budget and distribution of national dues for 2013.

Future General Meetings

  • 77th General Meeting
    New Delhi, 21 to 25 October 2013, hosted by the Indian NC
  • 78th General Meeting
    Tokyo, 10 to 14 November 2014, hosted by the Japanese NC

Council formally accepted the invitation of the Belarus National Committee to host the 2015 General Meeting in Minsk from 12 to 16 October.


Although Council can only officially accept invitations from National Committees up to three years in advance, many Members have already declared their intention to host a future IEC GM:

  • 80th General Meeting
    Germany has expressed an interest in hosting the event in 2016
  • 81st General Meeting
    The Russian Federation has stated its intention to invite the IEC for the 2017 GM

Thereafter, the National Committees of the Republic of Korea, China, Sweden and the United States have expressed an interest in hosting the GM in the years 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2022 respectively.

IEC-IEEE Challenge Award Ceremony

The IEC-IEEE Challenge Award Ceremony preceded the Council Open Session in the afternoon. The three winners – Ken Krechmer (University of Colorado, USA), Axel Mangelsdorf (BAM Federal Institute of Materials Research and Testing, Germany) and Joyce van de Vegte (Camosun College, Canada) were present in Oslo to receive their prizes from IEC and IEEE officers (see e-tech article).

Council Open Session

The theme of this year’s Council Open Session was: Renewable Energy and Future Grids. Among the presentations during the session, two concerned the latest IEC MSB (Market Strategy Board) White Paper, Grid integration of large-capacity Renewable Energy sources and use of large-capacity Electrical Energy Storage, officially launched in Oslo earlier in the week. Other presentations introduced Norwegian, Korean and Japanese activities in the Smart Grid and energy storage field from the perspective of regulators, user industry and utilities.



  • IEC Council Statutory Session
  • The next IEC President, Dr Junji Nomura
  • The theme of the Council Open Session was: Renewable Energy and Future Grids



Find out more