International Standards and Conformity Assessment for all electrical, electronic and related technologies

November 2011



IEC Technical Committee Officer

This month, e-tech announces the nomination of an IEC TC (Technical Committee) Officer.

IEC TC 117: Solar thermal electric plants

SMB (Standardization Management Board) has approved the nomination of Amnon Mahalalel as Chairman of IEC TC 117: Solar thermal electric plants. He is the first Chairman of this new Committee; this first term runs from 1 November 2011 to 31 October 2017.


Mahalalel is International Marketing Manager/Standards and Regulations Manager in the Energy Sector, Renewable Energy Division of Siemens AG, Israel.


After more than two decades of testing, the generation of electricity from STE (Solar Thermal Electric) plants is now moving on from the research phase to industrial deployment. International Standards will be essential to ensure that the transition to this new stage is successful. The SMB approved the creation of the new IEC TC 117 in April 2011, to draft International Standards in this field at system and component levels, including measurement standards for performance tests.


The TC 117 secretariat was allocated to the Spanish NC (National Committee). Within the committee, three WGs (Working Groups) will be set up to cover the main needs for standardization: plant, components and storage.



  • PS10 CSP Power Plant near Seville (Spain).
  • CSP solar trough collector.
  • SES "Sun Catcher" Dish-Engine (US), Photo: SES.



Find out more