International Standards and Conformity Assessment for all electrical, electronic and related technologies

March 2011


2010 Thomas A. Edison Award

First laureates of a new IEC awards programme

The November 2010 e-tech announced the first laureates of the IEC Thomas A. Edison Award, new to the IEC honours programme and attributed for the first time in 2010. The IEC Thomas A. Edison Award recognizes exceptional achievement in committee management by current TC (Technical Committee) and SC (Subcommittee) Officers or their CA (Conformity Assessment) counterparts. The Award can be attributed to a maximum of nine persons every year.


Five of the six 2010 laureates received their awards from Frank Kitzantides, then IEC Vice-President and Chairman of the SMB (Standardization Management Board), during a special ceremony that took place during the IEC GM (General Meeting) in Seattle, Washington, US (United States).


Reinhard Pelta, Secretary of IEC TC 64: Electrical installations and protection against electric shock, was unable to be present in Seattle to receive his IEC Thomas A. Edison Award. Consequently, Jim Matthews, IEC Vice-President and Chairman of the SMB, presented him with his silver medal, lapel pin and a certificate during the February 2011 SMB meeting in Geneva.

2011 nominations now open

SMB and CAB (Conformity Assessment Board) have now opened nominations for the 2011 IEC Thomas A. Edison Award. Full details of nomination criteria for TC/SC Officers and Conformity Assessment Officers and the relevant procedures for each can be found in the relevant password-protected ACs (Administrative Circulars) AC(2011)/11 and AC(2011)/12 on the IEC website. The deadline for nominations is 6 May 2011.


  • Reinhard Pelta, Secretary of IEC TC 64.
  • The Thomas A. Edison Award.
  • Reinhard Pelta receiving his IEC Thomas A. Edison Award from Jim Matthews, SMB Chairman.



Find out more