International Standards and Conformity Assessment for all electrical, electronic and related technologies
IEC Partners

IEC Partners

Standardization partners


Regional partners

At the regional level, the IEC works to achieve harmonization of standards among regional standardization organizations, such as:

AFSEC - African Electrotechnical Standardization Commission


The objectives of AFSEC
In the field of electricity, electronics and related technologies, the African Electrotechnical Standardization Commission (AFSEC) is responsible for:


  • Identification of existing standards and prioritization of standards needs,
  • Harmonizing existing standards, through either the adoption of international standards; or where necessary their adaptation to African conditions,
  • Where there is a need, identifying draft standards to be developed by the members of AFSEC for adoption, and
  • Recommending harmonized standards for application by the appropriate bodies of the African Union.
Cooperation Agreement between IEC and AFSEC

CANENA - Council for Harmonization of Electrotechnical Standardization of the Nations of the Americas


CANENA is a volunteer-based organization focused on electrotechnical standards harmonization activities within the Americas, helping to facilitate trade.


Originally founded in 1992 by the electroindustry manufacturers associations of North America, CANENA was formed out of opportunity resulting from a negotiated trade agreement among nations to foster the harmonization of electrotechnical product standards, conformity assessment test requirements, and electrical codes between all of the democracies of the Western Hemisphere.

Cooperation between the IEC and CANENA Cooperation Agreement between IEC and CANENA


CENELEC - European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization


CENELEC, the European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization, was created in 1973 as a result of the merger of two previous European organizations: CENELCOM and CENEL.


Nowadays, CENELEC is a non-profit technical organization set up under Belgian law and composed of the National Electrotechnical Committees of 31 European countries.


In addition, 11 National Committees from neighbouring countries are participating in CENELEC work with an Affiliate status.

Cooperation between the IEC and CENELEC Cooperation Agreement between IEC and CENELEC


COPANT - Pan American Standards Commission


The Pan American Standards Commission is a civil non-profit association. It has complete operational autonomy and is of unlimited duration.


The object of COPANT shall be to promote the development of technical standardization and related activities in its member countries with the aim of promoting their commercial, industrial, scientific and technological development in benefit of the economic and commercial integration and the exchange of goods and services, while facilitating cooperation in the intellectual, scientific, economic and social spheres.

Cooperation Agreement between IEC and COPANT


EASC - Euro-Asian Interstate Council for Standardization


About EASC
The Interstate Council for Standardization, Metrology and Certification of the Commonwealth of Independence States (CIS) is the CIS Intergovernmental body for formulation and carrying out of coordinated policy in the field of standardization, metrology and certification.
Cooperation Agreement between IEC and EASC


ETSI - European Telecommunications Standards Institute


About ETSI
The European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) produces globally-applicable standards for Information and Communications Technologies (ICT), including fixed, mobile, radio, converged, broadcast and internet technologies.


ETSI is a not-for-profit organization with more than 700 ETSI member organizations drawn from 62 countries across five continents.

Cooperation Agreement between IEC and ETSI


PASC - Pacific Area Standards Congress


About PASC
The importance of international standardization to trade and commerce is recognized throughout the world. Countries on the Pacific Rim agree on the need for a forum to:


  • strengthen international standardization programmes of the IEC and ISO (International Organization for Standardization) and to improve the ability of Pacific Rim standards organizations to participate in these programmes effectively
  • improve the quality and capacity of standardization in economies of the region
  • support free trade within the region and with economies in other regions
  • support improvement of economic efficiency and development of the region through the promotion of standardization
  • interact with other bodies that represent elements of the standardization technical infrastructure, industry, consumers and government
Cooperation Agreement between IEC and PASC


MERCOSUR - Mercado Común del Sur (Southern Common Market of South America)



Mercosur or Mercosul (Spanish: Mercado Común del Sur, Portuguese: Mercado Comum do Sul, English: Southern Common Market) is a union between Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Uruguay.


Besides, five countries have Associate membership: Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador and Peru. Mexico has aObserver status.


Founded in 1991 by the Treaty of Asunción, which was later amended and updated by the 1994 Treaty of Ouro Preto. It has been updated, amended, and changed many times since. It is now a full customs union.


Its purpose is to promote free trade and the fluid movement of goods, people, and currency.


The official languages are Portuguese and Spanish.

Cooperation Agreement between IEC and MERCOSUR